Amalienborg is the winter residence of the Danish Royal Family. It is a major architectural work and probably the most outstanding piece of Rococo architecture in Denmark. Amalienborg comprises four almost identical (but internally different) palaces encircling an octagonal courtyard with an equestrian statue of Frederik V – the founder of the Amalienborg complex.
Palaces of the nobility
Amalienborg was originally constructed in the 1750s as town residences for four noble families. They were built on land formerly occupied by the Sophie Amalienborg Palace that had burnt down in 1689. In 1794, after the fire of Christiansborg Palace, the palaces came into the possession of the Royal Family.
Four palaces surround Amalienborg Palace Square with its equestrian statue of King Frederik V. Amalienborg was designed in the 1750s by the architect N. Eigtved, and to this day it stands as a major work of Danish architecture.
The palaces were originally built as residences for four high ranking aristocrats, but when the old Christiansborg Palace burnt down in 1794, the Royal Family took over Amalienborg as their residence. Since then the reigning monarchs have lived in Amalienborg’s various palaces in turn.
Visit the Amalienborg palaces
The public can visit two of Amalienborg's four palaces: Christian VII's Palace, which is used by the Queen as a guest residence and for official ceremonies, may be visited on guided tours; and part of Christian VIII's Palace has been turned into a museum of the present royal family (the Glücksburg dynasty).
Christian VII's Palace
Christian VII's Palace is Queen Margrethe II’s guest and reception palace. The palace, which was built in 1750–54 for Count A.G. Moltke, forms the setting for official events such as the annual New Year Banquet. Inside the palace one can see some of Denmark’s finest, most sumptuously decorated rooms such as the Great Hall, the Banqueting Hall and ‘the Rose’ with its impressive collection of the Flora Danica porcelain service.